What law school ought to be.
Hon. Judith L. Haller '75 administers the Oath of Professional Conduct to California Western graduates Angela K. Shimizu, Elizabeth M. Carino, Parisima Roshanzamir, and Desiree M. Omli
State Bar of California Admits 144 California Western Graduates
Alumni vow to conduct their legal career with honor and integrity
SAN DIEGO, December 5, 2012 - The State Bar of California admitted 144 California Western School of Law graduates yesterday at its biannual swearing-in ceremony, held at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. More than 80 alumni attended a breakfast reception hosted by the law school, where they took the Oath of Professional Conduct.

San Diego County Bar Association President Marvin E. Mizell and President-Elect Marcella O. McLaughlin '98 joined California Western for the breakfast reception. McLaughlin will be sworn in as the association’s next president this Friday, the first Latina to lead the county bar.

Although the State Bar has not published its final numbers, California Western graduates met or exceeded the statewide average Bar Exam pass rate for ABA-approved schools, with 77 percent of first-time test takers passing.

California Western’s unique blend of legal scholarship and real world experience provides students with both a big picture perspective and textbook knowledge, preparing them—not simply for the Bar Exam—but for careers as members of the Bar.

Oath of Professional Conduct
The Oath of Professional Conduct, a unique event among law schools, is taken by California Western graduates as a vow to conduct themselves and their legal careers with integrity and a high degree of professional responsibility. Through the Oath, California Western demonstrates its commitment to educating principled advocates with the skills and perspective to make a lasting impact in their communities. The Hon. Anthony J. Battaglia '74, Larrie R. Brainard '68, Judith L. Haller '75, and Kevin R. O'Neil, JAGC, USN '05 administered the Oath.

Distinguished Speakers
Speakers addressing the graduates and their families included Trustee Chair Kenneth L. Greenman '71, Alumni Association Board President Christopher M. Lawson '05, San Diego County Bar Association President Marvin E. Mizell, and Associate Deans Laura M. Padilla and William J. Aceves.